Overview


LaborChart is a Workforce Management Solution, so it makes sense that the most important piece of your LaborChart account is its people. This article you will be shown the different types of people that exist in LaborChart as well as how to add them.


Types of People


There are three types of User Personas in LaborChart:

  • Users
  • Assignable
  • Both (User and Assignable)


Users can sign in to LaborChart (access based upon group access & permission level). They do NOT show up in the Resource Bench to be assigned to projects.

Assignable show up on the Board to be assigned to projects. They CANNOT sign in to LaborChart.

Both show up on the Board to be assigned to projects AND they can sign in to LaborChart (access based upon group access & permission level).


How to Add a New Person


From the People Page, select New in the upper-left hand corner of the page. You will then fill out the person's details, including first and last name, phone number, home address, job title, phone number and employee ID. Not all fields are required to create a new person.


Create a person


Next, you will need to choose the person type - User, Assignable or Both. You will then select the Group(s) this person will have access to. Finally, select the person's Status - Active or Inactive.


Active people show up on the Resource Bench as an assignable resource (when Type = Assignable) and have sign in access (when Type = User or Both).


Inactive people do not show up on the Resource Bench as an assignable resource (when Type = Assignable) and do not have sign in access (when Type = User or Both). Inactive people will stay in the system in the People Page, with their history from when they were active.


After you Save, two things will happen. You will be automatically redirected to their details page. This is where you will be able enter any other relevant information. If this person was selected as User or Both, the person you are adding will receive an email inviting them to join your account and provide a link to set their LaborChart password.


It's recommended that you do not DELETE people. If they are no longer working with your company or are on a leave of absence, it's best to change their status from Active to Inactive. This way, all information is preserved in LaborChart and can be referenced at a later date. If the person is deleted, all information tied to them will be removed from the system indefinitely.


On the People Page, selecting the i icon will display a legend showing the difference between Users and Assignable people without going to their profiles.

  • Users have a silhouette of a person next to their name
  • Assignable have a card next to their name
  • Both will have both a card and a silhouette


People Icons


Thank you for reading this support article. Please refer to the support library for regularly updated support documents.